Close Her Eyes (2023)


Close Her Eyes
The little boy called to his mother, “Mommy, I think there’s a lady sleeping down here.” The young woman lay among the rocks next to the creek like a broken doll, strands of her long dark hair covering her face. Her body was the kind of cold that only the dead can be…

A body lies beside Kettlewell Creek, the waters rushing and churning next to her broken form. When Detective Josie Quinn and her team arrive at the scene, they find few clues and a victim with no enemies. Nineteen-year-old Sharon Eddy was cherished by her beloved grandmother, who raised her, and her death shocks the Denton community where she worked at the local animal hospital.

When Josie is called to the morgue to hear the results of Sharon’s autopsy, the case takes a sinister turn. A mark has been burned on to Sharon’s left hip with a cattle brand: a horseshoe shot through with an arrow. Shaken and terrified, the usually cool and collected Medical Examiner Anya Feist lifts her own top to reveal an identical mark. Ten years ago, she fled her hometown after her marriage to her high school sweetheart ended in terror.

But Josie and her team can find nothing to connect Anya’s ex-husband Vance Hadlee to the murder. Their search of his family farm leads to more questions than answers.

Then another body is found. A young woman in a red coat, dumped like garbage in her final resting place, her hip bearing the same tell-tale horseshoe mark. As Josie gets closer to finding the truth, the killer creeps ever closer to home, threatening the lives of those Josie loves the most. Can she put together the pieces of this terrifying puzzle before it’s too late?

A completely unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Gripping, page-turning and guaranteed to keep you up all night, it’s perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.
Pages:
389
Published:
2023-05-03
Genres:
ASIN:
B0BVRWJCD2